Social Icons

Featured Posts

Read + Review!

Read + Review!

2014 Goodreads Challenge

2014 Reading Challenge

2014 Reading Challenge
Booksniffer has read 9 books toward her goal of 100 books.
hide

Upcoming "Just For Fun" Reviews

Taste Test Forever His to Possess The Weight of Souls Curtsies and Conspiracies Endless Knight Desert Son Mine Thousands of Mornings 3:59 Hard As You Can The Alpha Men's Secret Club Elsker

Upcoming Tour Reviews!

Bound by Lies April 8 Covered in Coal April 10 Forged by Fate April 14 Marked by Hades April 14 Self Destruct April 16 Destiny May 20 Synchrony May 20 This Wicked Rush May 20 See Through Me May 21 Absolute Zero May 23 Revealed May 29 Captured May 29

Latest Novel-to-Film Adaptation I've Watched:

Latest Novel-to-Film Adaptation I've Watched:
Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters

Darkness Unleashed - JULY 27th!

Darkness Unleashed - JULY 27th!

Great Lakes Book Blogger Alliance

Awards!



Thanks go to: Read Write All The Time!

Cover Reveal: CRYOSTORM by Lynn Rush!

They made his body, she'll awaken his soul.

4 Sniffs Review: SEE THROUGH ME by Sera Bright #Giveaway

There's only one person I want to see when I return home. But I know he won't be waiting. It's the reason I feel safe enough to come back. I’m so wrong.

YBO Sniffer Review: THIS WICKED RUSH by Jessie Evans #Giveaway

THIS WICKED RUSH is an edgy, sexy, boundary-pushing read intended for readers over the age of seventeen. The book features graphic love scenes, violence, strong language, and thieves in love. Read at your own risk.

5.5 Sniffs Review: SYNCHRONY by Cindy Ray Hale #Giveaway #Excerpt

Will Destiny and Preston find the synchrony they so desperately need, or will she find a way to forgive Isaac and return to his outstretched arms?

5 Sniffs Review: DESTINY by Cindy Ray Hale #Giveaway

Weaving around Destiny and Isaac's alternating viewpoints, Destiny is the first book in a series inspired by the characters of Les Misérables and explores heartbreak, self-discovery, intolerance, and love.

CHANGES & MERGER

Hello! I'm currently in the process of merging my 3 sites to make it easier for me to keep everything up.

So all book tours that have a ROMANCE title will be posted to the new site instead of here on Booksniffer Book Reviews. All non-romance titles will still be posted here.

Those posts can be found here: http://loveineverypage.weebly.com/

I'm sorry for any inconvenience this may cause, but it'll be better in the long run.

~Christina

Friday, May 30, 2014

4.5 Sniffs Review: THE WILDE ONE by Savannah Young




Title: The Wilde One
Series: Old Town Country Romance #2
Author: Savannah Young
Genre: Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Rock Star/Musician, Military
Publisher: Short on Time Books
ASIN: B00JKTX9ZA
Release Date: April 8, 2014
Source: Reading Addiction Virtual Book Tours ☆ Tour Schedule
Links: Goodreads ☆ Amazon

FOUR WILDE BROTHERS...ONE WILDE COUNTRY BAND

THE WILDE ONE is the second novel in the spicy contemporary romance series about four sexy brothers, their small-town bar and their local country band. Each novel in the OLD TOWN COUNTRY ROMANCE series can be read as a STAND ALONE NOVEL or as part of the SERIES.

Tucker Wilde joined the United States Army right out of high school and was injured in Iraq. But more than just his leg was shattered in the Middle East. The war also crushed his spirit and damaged his soul. When a strange couple arrives at his family’s bar, Haymakers, Tucker can see signs of mental and emotional abuse and is immediately drawn to the lovely but fragile girl seated at his bar.

Gracie Parker has been a victim of abuse her entire life. When her boyfriend, Dex, beats her in the parking lot of Haymakers and abandons her, it’s almost too much for the nineteen-year-old to bear. That is until Tucker appears like a warrior knight from the darkness to save her.

Tucker and Gracie are two broken people who are immediately drawn together. But their relationship and even their very lives are threatened by Dex who will stop at nothing to get Gracie back.

If you like your trucks loud, your beer cold and your men hot...you'll love THE WILDE ONE.




In THE WILDE ONE, Tucker Wilde, a wounded war hero and one of the Wilde brothers, meets Gracie Parker, a pretty yet fragile girl, when she comes into his family's bar one night with her boyfriend Dex. Her fear triggers Tucker's protective instincts, and when he finds her beaten in the parking lot of Haymakers, he vows to protect her from Dex, no matter what. Neither of them expected to fall in love.

I really liked THE WILDE ONE. Both Tucker and Gracie have things in their pasts that have left them broken. They focus on what they believe to be the negative things about themselves, and can't see the positives, but they see the positives in each other. I liked seeing how these two would work through the hard stuff and finally move forward. Gracie's abuse was kind of disturbing and one scene was particularly heartbreaking toward the end.

I also liked seeing storylines that set up the next two books, Hunter and Jake's stories. Every little piece of information given about then in Wilde Riders and THE WILDE ONE adds to their stories, which we'll get to read when the books release.



Tucker: The third Wilde brother. Wounded in an ambush in Iraq. His scars disgust him and he doesn't let anyone see them. Works at the family bar, Haymakers. Guitarist in the band he's in with his brothers, Wilde Riders. When he meets Gracie, every protective instinct is triggered when he can see signs of abuse and fear. Vows to protect her no matter what.

Gracie: Basically sold to Dex to pay off her father's debts. She's been abused in many ways - physically, emotionally, mentally. She rarely eats because Dex doesn't like fat girls. She's in fear every moment of her life, until the day she entered Haymakers and met Tucker. He shows her kindness, compassion, love - all things she's never been shown. She has a scar on her cheek that she feels makes her ugly.



Dex is a sicko who has his hand in all sorts of illegal stuff. He took Gracie as payment for her father's debts. She was still in high school at the time, and he sexually assaulted her. He barely lets her eat, she has thin clothing, and he beats her whenever she does something that he doesn't like. Like talking or drinking water. Pretty much he finds any reason to hit her. And Tucker's interest in her really sets Dex off.



I loved the romance between Tucker and Gracie! These two are just so sweet together. It started out as Tucker wanting to protect her from Dex, but as they spend time together, get to know each other, share their scars, it turns into love. Like Tucker says the Wilde boys fall fast and they fall hard.

I love that Tucker wants to give Gracie the life that she deserves. He helps her to get a job, a driver's permit, clothes, and eventually her GED and college. She never had any of these things, and I just loved how Tucker wanted to help her, and give her a better life. He shows her that she deserves all the things that he's giving her, including his love.

Then there is Gracie seeing Tucker's scars from the ambush, and not seeing them as ugly. She accepts all of Tucker. I thought that this scenes was really beautiful, and it was from Tucker's point of view, so we get to see how much her acceptance really means to him.

In my opinion, these two were meant for each other. Simple as that.



Click the cover to go to the Review!




Was this review helpful?
Please vote for it on Amazon!
Just click the button!
Thank you!



Feature & Follow Friday: Importance of Good Writing

Hosted by Parajunkee’s View and Alison Can Read


How important is good writing to you? In an ideal world, a book would be beautifully written AND have great character development, plot, etc. But in the real world, which do you prefer: (1) Great characters and plot with lousy writing or (2) Middling character development and plot but gorgeous writing


Good writing is always a plus, so I think it really comes down to whether the story is good or not. No one likes a book that is full of grammatical issues. But I think that if the story is good, the characters like-able then I'm a happy reader. Perfection sometimes is not a good thing, and I think that a story that has some minor flaws is better than one without any. I'd say I'd choose 1.5, a middle-ground between 1 and 2.


I'm not picky, so whichever of my follow options works
best for you is fine. I just prefer GFC.


Thank you for visiting and following!


P.S.
If you're interested in review tours and review opportunities,
please visit Booksniffer Review Tours!


Cover Reveal: COWBOY DREAMS by Kasey Millstead‏! #Giveaway


COWBOY DREAMS
Down Under Cowboy #3
Publication: June 2014 

My decision for moving from Sydney, NSW, to Pine Creek NT, was purely selfish...to begin with. My best friend, Edie, had gone off on an adventure to find herself, and instead she'd found the love of her life. Not wanting to be left behind, I decided to follow her. I made this choice for a few reasons. First, I didn't want to be without my best friend. Second, I'd slept with my boss, and trust me, once that happens, shit just gets awkward! And third, on a visit with Edie, I'd met a man.

Clay Forde.

A hunk of Aussie, crocodile egg collecting, cowboy, badass, hotness.

We had a one-night stand...and then another one when I visited again.

Then, I found out I was pregnant.

So now, moving to the Northern Territory wasn't just about me escaping the awkwardness at work, or tagging along with my best friend. It was about developing a relationship with a man I hardly knew, who I was about to have a baby with.

I'm loathe to admit it, but I'm scared and I'm nervous. But most of all, I'm petrified he's going to reject me. Because even though our "relationship" so far has been limited to two sexual encounters, I can't help the feelings that have taken root in my bones...feelings for Clay. And the worst part is, I don't even know if he feels an inkling of what I do.

Cowboy Dreams (Down Under Cowboy Series) is the 3rd installment of the #1 Bestselling series. Each book can be read as a stand alone as each of books is about interconnecting characters and they all have happy ever afters. However, the author recommends they be read in order to avoid spoilers.


NEW COVERS FOR SERIES!
Click the covers to Purchase!

 




a Rafflecopter giveaway





Thursday, May 29, 2014

Swoon Thursday: ADORNED by Georgeann Swiger

Hosted by YA Bound


I'm swooning over...

Adorned by Georgeann Swiger



He throws another rock to the far side of the lake. "Did you truly believe you'd never see me again?"

"I was starting to think so."

"I thought you knew I'd never abandon you."

"I didn't know anything, Micah. How could I? You didn't tell me. You just left."

His shoulders droop. I can barely hear his voice. "Must you hear everything spoken aloud?"

Something pops and crackles. The dormant branches of forsythia tremble like a giant stomped the ground. Bits of yellow burst forth from the brown stalks. The stems move and sway as the bushes awaken with thousands of flowers.

Micah steps away from me and looks to the sky. Deep lines run across his forehead as he bows his head. A beam of sunshine breaks through the clouds. It streams down on him, bathing him in a golden light that he absorbs to his very core. His hands form tight fists. When he extends his arms and opens his hands, an unearthly light radiates out of him. His head snaps up. The angel, Micah, looks directly at me. "You are dearly loved," he says in a serious, noble voice.

The yellow flowers shimmer behind him like a golden vow of his love and devotion. As I stare at him, the world fades away. I'm swept into a place where Micah doesn't have to say a word. His eyes tell me everything I want to hear. He loves me. Even though it's forbidden, he loves me.

I feel like I'm going to explode with joy. I want to tell him I love him too. But I swallow the words. In that moment, words aren't needed.



Check out my 5 SNIFFS review of Adorned!
Just click the button!



What's making you swoon this week?

Release Day Blitz: TUR & ELSKER by S.T. Bende! #Giveaway #Excerpt




TUR
The Elsker Saga #0.5
Publication: May 5, 2014

FREE from Amazon!

Inga Andersson is the envy of every girl in Asgard. On the surface she has it all -- great friends, a job as Odin’s personal fight choreographer, and a happy ever after with her realm’s hottest assassin. But when evil invades Asgard, her perfect world comes crashing down. Someone is planning to kill off the gods, and Inga’s best friend Ull is first on their list. With the Norse apocalypse a nanosecond away, Inga has to decide how she’ll spend her final moments of freedom. Because from the moment this battle begins, Inga’s happily ever after will be nothing more than a memory.

Some things are worth fighting for.



ELSKER
The Elsker Saga #1
Publication: May 29, 2014

Buy from AmazonBarnes and NobleKobo

You don’t win the heart of an immortal assassin without making a few enemies along the way.

Kristia Tostenson prefers Earl Grey to Grey Goose and book clubs to nightclubs, but when she transfers from her one-stoplight town to Cardiff University in Wales she falls in love with Ull Myhr. Her new boyfriend isn’t exactly what she was expecting. He’s an honest to goodness Norse God - an immortal assassin fated to die at Ragnarok, the battle destined to destroy Asgard and Earth. Kristia’s crazy visions are the only thing that can save their realms. Her orderly life just got very messy.






What reviewers are saying about The Elsker Saga:

"The characters will leave an imprint on your heart and mind for a long time to come." 
-Lisa (Bound by Books)

"Bende takes classic bits of Norse mythology and throws in original elements to create her own tasty Nordic blend... I'll definitely be checking out the sequel!" 
-Bookalicious Reviews

"One of my favorite books of the year." 
-White Zin Bookends

"Action packed with a heart pounding romance!" 
-Curse of the Bibliophile

"This book was nearly impossible to put down and I'm dying for the sequel!" 
-Brittany and Bianca Blab Books (now BiblioBelles)



a Rafflecopter giveaway


“Are you sure you will be all right on the stairs?” Ull stood in the grand hall of Cardiff Castle, glancing at the four-inch, shiny death-traps Victoria called shoes. Since Ull’s eyes practically bugged out of his face when he picked me up, I had no intention of changing into the emergency flats I’d stuck in my purse. Victoria had scored another hit.

“Probably not. Walk behind me in case I fall?”

“It would be my pleasure.”

“On our right, the coats of arms,” continued the tour guide. He’d been talking for a good five minutes and I couldn’t remember a single word. That was because Ull had started stroking the small of my back when our tour began, and it took all my concentration just to stay upright.

“The castle is gorgeous.” I admired the stonework as we made our way toward the stairs. There I shifted focus to my feet, staring at each step until I’d reached the top. “Made it.”

“And I was so hoping I would get to catch you.” Ull came up next to me and skimmed my hand with the pads of his fingers.

“Well, the night is young and these shoes are high. You may still get your chance.”

“Tease.” Ull kissed my palm.

“Um.” I swayed on the heels and he chuckled.

“Come, Miss Tostenson. We are losing the group.”

“Right.”

We walked the long corridor framed with paintings. All of the history in these walls was kind of overwhelming. The castle was two thousand years old. The oldest thing we had back in Nehalem was probably the Homestead. Cardiff Castle had about eighteen hundred years on that farm.

“This place is huge,” I whispered when we’d caught up to the tour. “I can’t imagine living here. How could you ever get comfortable?”

“You get used to it,” Ull shrugged. “Find little corners to make your own.”

“How on earth could anyone get used to all of this?”

“When you are stuck in it every day it gets old. Trust me.”

“Right.” Like Ull was an authority on royal dwellings. “Living in a castle sounds sooo terrible.”

“Depends on the day.”

“What does that mean?”

“Just that these walls did more than keep people out -- they kept people in, too.”

I thought about my vision from Friday night -- of Ull and me in a meadow by a castle. Huh.

“Where did you say your family lived, exactly?” I probed.

But Ull bristled. I’d hit a nerve. “Come Kristia, we have lost our group again.” He gently pulled me down the hall.

“You may have noticed the Animal Wall in front of the Castle. Though William Burges designed the Wall in 1866, it was not constructed until 1890 -- nine years after Burges’s death.” The guide lifted an eyebrow as we caught up. “Please do try to stay with the tour,” he admonished before turning down another corridor. The rest of the group followed closely.

“Sorry.” I ducked my head.

Ull raised a corner of his mouth in a smile. “Why, Kristia, you are blushing.”

“And?” I lifted my chin, and took a step back so I stood against the wall.

“It is sweet.” Ull paused and lifted a finger to my cheek. My knees buckled and he grabbed my arm to steady me. The touch sent shockwaves straight to my head, leaving me with the unnerving sensation of being underwater. I lost my bearings again and Ull wrapped both hands around my waist to stop my fall.

“Sorry,” I mouthed. “Must be the shoes.” I couldn’t stop staring at his eyes. They almost looked nervous.

“Must be.” He ran his finger along my jaw, stopping to grasp my chin between his thumb and forefinger. His eyes focused on my mouth and my heartbeat accelerated. He ran his thumb lightly over my lips. They parted under his touch. A wave of heat shot from my lower lip straight to my abdomen, creating a slow burn that wasn’t altogether uncomfortable. I watched as his eyes slowly moved down then back up, lingering at the neckline of my dress. Victoria had been right about the push-up bra.

“Must be,” I repeated.

Ull drew his eyes away from my cleavage and took a step closer. He leaned one forearm against the wall, leaving me enveloped between the cold stone and his warm chest. I was suddenly very dizzy.

“Kristia,” he spoke in a whisper.

“Yes?” I whispered back. Ull was looking at me with an intensity I wasn’t prepared for. He stepped in, closing the last inch between us.

“Look at me.” He spoke again, lifting my chin so my lips were tilted towards his. If his body hadn’t been pressed against mine, I would have collapsed in a heap that instant. Instead, I took a shaky breath as Ull dropped his head. He ran his nose along my jaw line, pausing when he reached my ear. He breathed in, the cool air sending a shiver down my neck. With painstaking slowness he drew his nose across my cheek until our lips were almost touching. Now when I looked into his eyes I saw something entirely different. He was strong. Confident. And very much in control.

I let out a small sigh and immediately he covered my mouth with his. It wasn’t a gentle kiss -- it was commanding, almost forceful. I melted against him as he claimed my lips, moved down my jaw to consume my neck. My insides throbbed. In that moment, I would have done absolutely anything he asked me to.

“Kristia,” he whispered again.

“Mmm.” It was the best I could muster by way of response.

“I think we need to stop.”

In God’s name, why?

“Will you be joining the rest of my tour, or shall I leave the two of you here?” The guide stood at the end of the corridor, literally tapping his foot. Oops.

Ull placed his hands around my waist to right me. I smoothed my hair and straightened my dress, my cheeks burning the whole time.

“Great timing,” I muttered. Just when things were getting good.

“Do not worry Kristia.” Ull winked. “We have all the time in the world.”

I sure hoped so.


TEASERS:

 




Wednesday, May 28, 2014

5 Sniffs Review: ADORNED by Georgeann Swiger #Giveaway




Title: Adorned
Series: Trinity of Souls #1
Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal, Romance, Fantasy
Publisher: Georgeann Swiger
ASIN: B00JG8QZ1U
Release Date: April 2, 2014
Source: Georgeann SwigerBooksniffer Review ToursTour Schedule
Links: Goodreads ☆ Amazon ☆ Barnes and Noble ☆ Kobo

When seventeen-year-old Anya finds out she’s actually an angel being trained to protect humanity, she discovers that becoming an angel has nothing to do with wings and halos. For Anya, becoming an angel has to do with death—her death.

Micah, the angelic soldier ordered to protect her until she transitions from human to angel, promises her death will be a glorious experience as long as she follows his rules. But getting Anya through this life and to the next isn’t as simple as Micah expects. His job becomes even more difficult after he unwittingly performs a miracle that exposes Anya’s hidden angelic light.

With her secret out, Hell’s legions begin targeting her. Unfortunately, Hell’s minions are the least of Micah’s worries. He’s more concerned about the forbidden human emotions he’s developed toward Anya. Even more troubling, is she seems to love him too. And giving in to those feelings, could mean dire consequences for them both.



ADORNED brings us the story of Anya, a girl who is constantly bullied at school, who learns that she's actually an angel living as a human in order to learn more about them, so that she can then be a good guardian. Her guardian in her human life is Micah, a warrior who usually has the job of guarding the border between the Kingdom and Hell. He doesn't understand human emotions, so understanding and protecting Anya is a battle in itself. Not to mention his own confusing developing feelings for her. Things get real for Anya when she is targeted by some of Hell's minions, and even those who are supposed to be protecting her aren't necessarily to be trusted.

I really really loved ADORNED! Things start out pretty normal, but quickly turn complicated with the arrival of Micah. I really liked the contrasting character personalities, and Eli was definitely a fun characters that I hope we get to see more of in future books. There is also so much danger lurking around, and not just from Hell, but the Kingdom as well. I'd say by the end of ADORNED the only person Anya could really trust is Micah. And I'm going to tell you all right now, there was a cliffhanger so huge it made me feel like I was hanging over a pit of snakes (snakes will make sense when you read the book) and the only way to remain alive is to know what happens next in the series. That may seem extreme, but trust me when I say you'll be dying for the next book, Cloven.



Anya: 17 years old. Bullied by Sam Malick at school. Volunteers at the hospital. Has chronic migraines. Learns that she's to be a guardian angel after her becoming, which is one of the lowest ranks of angels. Falls in love with her guardian, Micah, which is forbidden.

Micah: A warrior of the Triad, guards the border between the Kingdom and Hell. Tasked as Anya's new guardian while she's human, and to be with her through her becoming and lead her to her place in the Kingdom. Hates being on Earth and dislikes humans. Has a tumultuous relationship with Simon. Shaken by the developing feelings he has for Anya.

Sam: Has a crush on Anya and basically bullied her to have a reason to be around her. After he was shot he changed for the better. Becomes a really good friend to Anya after a surprise revelation.

Eli: The highest ranking angel out of all them living in Celeste's house. He makes the final decisions. Has an eccentric personality. Loves the singer Prince. Not much is revealed about him.

Aunt Celeste: Anya's guardian before Micah took over. Out of all her children, Anya is the most special one.

Simon: The second highest ranked angel in Celeste's house. Loves cooking. Has a strained relationship with Micah. He can be quite heartless at times, for an angel.



There are actually a number of different villains in ADORNED, some have small roles while others have larger roles, but the one I'm going to say a little about is Mr. Jackson (and possibly in some ways his son Kenny). The Jackson's are Anya and Celeste's neighbors, but Mr. Jackson made a deal with Hell that cost him dearly. All I'm going to say is that there was a hunting scene that I found very disturbing and heartbreaking, and I just felt ripped apart after reading it. I wanted to cry my eyes out, I was just so sad. And then there was the moment when Anya feels so much pain and heartbreak, that she feels a deep hatred for Mr. Jackson and Kenny. She wants revenge. This scene was just written so well, that I felt everything that Anya was feeling.



There really isn't much romance between Micah and Anya until the end of the book, and that scene was so incredibly beautiful. It's probably my favorite scene in the whole book.

There are some moments between Anya and Sam, but their relationship speaks of heartbreak and missed opportunities. I can't say much about it without giving anything away, but if you read the book it'll make more sense.



a Rafflecopter giveaway

IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO READ AND REVIEW ADORNED:


The review opportunity is open from May 26 until June 14.


Was this review helpful?
Please vote for it on Amazon!
Just click the button!
Thank you!



Sunday, May 25, 2014

Announcing...ILLUSION by J.S. Cooper!

New York Times Bestselling Author of The Ex Games and The Private Club, J. S. Cooper has a new sexy, suspenseful trilogy coming. The Swept Away series will be published by Simon & Schuster's, Gallery books, and the first book Illusion will be out on October 21st, 2014.



ILLUSION
Swept Away Trilogy #1
Publication: October 24, 2014

Pre-Order at Amazon ☆ Barnes and Noble ☆ iTunes!


The day started like every other day...

Bianca London finds herself kidnapped and locked up in a van with a strange man. Ten hours later, they’re dumped on a deserted island. Bianca has no idea what’s going on and her attraction to this stranger is the only thing keeping her fear at bay.

Jakob Bradley wants only to figure out why they’ve been left on the island and how they can get off. But as the days go by, he can’t ignore his growing fascination with Bianca.

In order to survive, Bianca and Jakob must figure out how they’re connected, but as they grow closer, secrets are revealed that may destroy everything they thought they knew about each other.


Release Day Blitz: CHASED DREAMS by Lacey Weatherford & Chase Walden



Lacey and Chase have created a story that is timeless and heartwarming. They truly know how to create a story about love and loss, while doing the series justice and ending it brilliantly!

–Lisa Markson, The Paranormal Bookworm



CHASED DREAMS
Chase Walker #3
Publication: May 25, 2014
Goodreads

Buy from Amazon ☆ iTunes ☆ Smashwords ☆ CreateSpace (Print)


Dreams may come, and Dreams may go, but some Dreams are meant to be Chased!

Dreams of the future, dreams of love and happiness, dreams of being able to move on and get past the heartache that still resides in his soul, Chase Walker believes things are finally starting to look up.

But are they really?

When Chase suffers a devastating injury on the football field, his life is thrown into a tailspin once again. Feeling like he’s lost his identity, he struggles with keeping his relationship with Brittney from falling apart, while also trying to find out who he really is inside. 

But when dreams from the past resurface, causing old feelings to rise anew and clash with the life he’s living now, Chase is left to wonder if all he has is Chased Dreams.



Buy NOW at iTunes!



Buy NOW at Amazon!